I posted this story last year, but I was sort of late in my submission and it ended up buried about 5,000 comments down. Now, two days into the contest and there’s already 365 comments! Well, here’s hoping it gets seen this year.

You know what they say about curiosity...

A quick preface about myself and where I’m from. I come from a tiny town in East Texas. The kind of place where everyone knows everyone (and their business), neighbors tend to be neighborly, and anything relating to the big city is just too damned big. My graduating class size was 14, including myself. If you don’t get it yet, it’s a very rural town. I experienced many things one might describe as paranormal or supernatural while growing up there. But one event in particular stands out among all others.

When I was a sophomore in high school, my science teacher/coach handed out a photocopied topographical map of the town to anyone who wanted it. I thought it would be really cool to have something like that, so I raised my hand for one. This was in the mid-90's, so there was no Google Earth at the time. Or Google, for that matter. As I’m perusing the map, I see the school and the two cemeteries at either end of the road the school sits on. The black cemetery at one end, the white (and much larger) cemetery at the other end. But then I noticed that there was a third cemetery just south of the large white cemetery. Sitting right in the middle of a pasture behind the power plant? That can’t be right?