Good evening, my glorious, gorgeous Jezzies from far and wide.

I need some advice. I may be seriously jumping the gun on this but, my gut is speaking louder than my logic core so yes, some wisdom is needed. Actually, I need advice on two things but, first things first.

Some Background: Due to massive company layoffs, I’ve been unemployed for almost two months. I have been coasting on severance, cash out from a ton of unused sick leave, a payout from unused vacation, and the fact that my husband has solid work, good pay and benefits. Thank the Gods. Still, the job hunt has been beyond frustrating and I can’t tell you how many jobs I’ve applied for. When your passions lie in the arts, theatre, and arts admin, the job hunt ( at least in this city) is three times as difficult and far, far more competitive. Lots of Big fish eating each other in a Small Pond and all that. I have a lot of practical job experience but still, my already precarious esteem has taken a huge blow.

The Opportunity: A few months back I was given the chance to lead a series of theatre workshops with at-risk youth culminating in a theatrical performance in a well-known venue. I would be volunteering however and, we would not begin till late winter/ early spring of next year. The young women who founded and runs this organization already lead a series of creative writing and poetry workshops downtown that have been a boon to the youth participating. We’ve had meetings, conference calls, and share a constantly updating document on how we are going to plan our sessions, share mock scripts and concerns, casting ideas, and, even find funding. Yes, it is volunteering but, the chance to actually use my BA/MA for such a cause is exactly what I need. It is a place I thrive, feel more myself.