Growing up on a farm, we were huge loyalists to Chevrolet. Had nothing but GM products for years. That may have bitten my father in the bum.

I had an old Honda CRX as my high school, and later college, car. When it was time for it to be put out the pasture, I went looking all around for a new car. Being the Honda faithful guy, I went to look at Accords. My father got wind of this and offered help, with a caveat. He said he would assist in payment on a brand new car. But it needed to be a GM. Actually, a Cavalier, to be more specific. Being a broke college student, I acquiesced. His reasoning was that GM vehicles were so reliable, yadda yadda yadda... My sister had 2 Cavaliers, and they were nothing but reliable and built like a tank. His Grand Am also could be driven cross country with no issues. Those Japanese cars were nothing but trouble. Parts were expensive to buy, everything is too complicated, et cetera. Basically, I was not ever getting him to help me on an Accord. So I bought a brand new 2001 Cavalier with manual everything, save the power sunroof. Weird.

Flash forward a couple years.