I’ve been working on cars for many years, really since I was a kid learning as my dad did things. And I’m honestly not sure how to answer this question. I suppose it’s really relevant to see it from the context of what the end goal is...so maybe there are multiple answers.

Goal: Save Money on Repair Costs

There are items that one can learn that can help save on common repair costs. Sure, you may not want to take on replacing a timing belt, or swapping a transmission, but some things beyond a tire change.

The key here is that you most likely will not become a seasoned DIY’er, so you will have to accept the comfort level of where YOU draw your limitations, and be reasonable with them.

That said, a good starting list for this goal would be:

- Do your own oil changes. You can save a fair bit of money over the life of the car. Once you own the RIGHT tools and amortize that cost, the overall cost of a synthetic oil change can be half of what a dealer would charge.

- Maintain and Change your battery - Assuming you don’t own a car with a fancy battery that requires computer programming during replacement, you can learn basic steps here. How to clean and properly tighten terminals, how to swap the battery, etc. A bad battery connection can cause a lot of issues. Replacing a wire or terminal can be a few bucks of what would otherwise be over $100 at a shop.

- Replace brake pads on disc brakes - Again, starting small. A pad change on a disc brake setup is fair easy to learn. It gets harder if you are replacing a caliper or line (opening the hydraulics and then needing to bleed), or doing drum brake shoe / wheel cylinder replacement. Disc brake pads are simple. Honestly, so are the others as you build up to them, but again, you need to be rational about what you are comfortable or wish to do.