This story isn’t supernatural but it’s 100% true and probably the closest I’ve (knowingly) come to being in serious trouble.

After I graduated college I decided that the only thing for me to do would be to go to Japan and teach English. I would be a foreign woman living alone, but Japan has a reputation for being super safe, and indeed the first year or so I lived there all the normal precautions I was trained to take in the States just melted away. Little by little I started walking home at night alone, started taking shortcuts through dark, deserted streets, started wearing my headphones all the time and not paying attention to my surroundings because no one was really taking much notice of me anyway, except the occasional stare that comes from being a white woman in a suburb that had maybe ten Westerners in it altogether.

One warm summer night I decided that a walk to get some groceries would be nice. And not to my local grocery store, but the one that was three miles away via a backroads shortcut. Because exercise.

As I was walking back, laden with groceries, relaxed, headphones in, podcast on, I was noticing the sort of greenish cast of the streetlights against a wall I was walking next to. The lights were at my back, so my shadow was projected in front of me. Now I don’t know if this is something other people do, but in the States whenever I saw my shadow in front of me on the street at night I would always try to pay attention to whether there was another human-shaped shadow behind it, because that would mean someone was following me, maybe ready to attack.

Right then I was doing it mostly idly, though, because this was a sleepy residential neighborhood, absolutely no one out and about, so I felt paradoxically kind of safe.

And then I fucking saw it.

Another shadow behind mine, coming up fast.